Temporary restriction of non-essential travel from third countries into the EU

19.03.2020 - Article

On 17 March 2020, Heads of State or Government of the Schengen Member States together with their counterparts of the Schengen Associated States have decided to apply a temporary restriction of non-essential travel from third countries into the EU area, in force for 30 days.

If you wish to travel, require a visa and one of the exceptions for entry applies to you:

  • Non-EU citizens with long-term residence permit for Germany returning to their place of residence in Germany but your residence permit was stolen
  • Non-EU citizens with essential functions, such as scientists, diplomats, airline crews

Or if you have a compelling reason for entry into Germany, please contact us at visainfo@nair.auswaertiges-amt.de with your full name, date of birth, passport number and information and proof on the compelling reason for travel. We will contact you with information on how to proceed further.

Please be advised that processing of all visa applications already made has been suspended.

If you have applied for a Schengen visa (short-term business trips, visits or tourist trips) with a travel date within the entry stop, you can either revoke your application and re-apply at a time when travel again will be possible or your application will be decided upon on the basis of the current factual and legal situation.

If you have applied for a national visa (long-term stay in Germany for family reunion, studies, work) processing of your application has been suspended for the time of the entry stop.

Please contact us once the travel ban has been lifted with

For studies: a current Letter of Admission or confirmation of your university of the start date for your studies.

For work visa: a current Work Contract or confirmation of your Germany employer when your start date for work will be.

Top of page